The second edition of the Tour de Pologne Women began today with an individual time trial in Lublin, attracting enthusiastic fans and elite female riders. The 4.5-kilometre course near Litewski Square saw Stina Kagevi of Team Coop-Repsol emerge as the leader, clocking in at 5 minutes and 41 seconds. This marked her first victory at this level.

“I didn’t expect to win at all,” Kagevi shared, reflecting on her performance. “Waiting for the result was definitely harder for me than the race itself. During the race, I know that everything depends on me, but when I am waiting, I have no control over anything.”

Kagevi’s win also secured her the first yellow jersey of the ORLEN general classification. The Nordic riders dominated the time trial, with Finland’s Wilma Aintila of Lotto Dstny Ladies finishing just one second behind, and Denmark’s Christina Bragh Lorenzen two seconds behind the leader.

Poland’s Zuzanna Chylińska, representing TKK Pacific Nestle Fitness, finished in fifth place, three seconds behind Kagevi. “I was prepared for the hot weather so that I could give my all on the course,” Chylińska said. “Today’s course was perfect for me – a slight uphill at the start allowed me to push hard from the start and after the turn I was able to speed downhill to the finish. My coach, Leszek Szyszkowski, was with me the whole time, and thanks to his instructions, I knew in which direction I had to go.”

The competition saw strong performances from the local riders as well, with MAT ATOM Developer Wrocław’s Katarzyna Wilkos, Olga Wankiewicz, and Malwina Mul finishing in 8th, 9th, and 10th places respectively.

2024 Tour de Pologne Women Stage 1 result

Results powered by