Leknessund omitted from Tour de France squad as Uno-X unveils lineup

Uno-X Mobility unveiled their squad for this year’s Tour de France on Monday morning, with the notable omission of Andreas Leknessund, who many expected to be part of the team.

The selected riders for the Tour include Magnus Cort, Alexander Kristoff, Søren Wærenskjold, Jonas Abrahamsen, Rasmus Fossum Tiller, Tobias Halland Johannessen, Johannes Kulset, and Odd Christian Eiking. This lineup means that none of Andreas Leknessund, Markus Hoelgaard and Anders Skaarseth made the cut. However, the trio will be listed as reserves in case of injuries or late illnesses.

A surprising inclusion in the squad is 20-year-old Johannes Kulset, born in 2004. Kulset recently made headlines after being disqualified from the Tour of Slovenia for apparently performing a “super tuck” (replays showed that it not have breached the actual rules but it pushed them close). Despite this incident, Kulset is primarily recognised for his climbing ability. After moving up from the development team to Uno-X’s main team following last season, he has participated in only two WorldTour-level races: Volta a Catalunya and Liège-Bastogne-Liège. The upcoming Tour de France will be the biggest challenge of his career.

The Uno-X team presented their squad this morning, confirming the following riders for the Tour de France:

  • Magnus Cort
  • Alexander Kristoff
  • Søren Wærenskjold
  • Jonas Abrahamsen
  • Rasmus Fossum Tiller
  • Tobias Halland Johannessen
  • Johannes Kulset
  • Odd Christian Eiking

In his statements, Kulset reflected on his recent experiences and the upcoming challenge. “Getting disqualified in Slovenia was a tough moment, but I’ve learned from it. Now, I’m focused on proving myself in the Tour,” he said.

The team highlighted the mix of experience and youth in the team, with veterans like Alexander Kristoff and Magnus Cort set to guide the younger riders. The inclusion of rising stars such as Søren Wærenskjold and Tobias Halland Johannessen showcases Uno-X’s commitment to nurturing talent.