Pfeiffer Georgi clinched her third national road race title under the Saltburn sunshine. The 2024 Lloyds Bank National Road Championships concluded with Georgi’s emphatic win, underscoring her dominance in British women’s cycling.

The women’s race spanned five laps of the challenging 130km course, featuring the iconic Saltburn Bank climb. Early in the race, a breakaway trio of Miriam Jessett, Sian Botteley, and Lizi Brooke established a substantial lead. However, as the peloton intensified its pace, only Brooke remained ahead, holding a 35-second advantage as the final lap began.

Anna Henderson’s late surge fractured the peloton, leaving just 13 riders able to match her pace. Claire Steels and former champion Lizzie Deignan joined the front, reducing the lead group to nine, including Georgi and Alice Towers.

Despite a mechanical setback for Steels, she, along with Frankie Hall and Sophie Wright, bridged back to the leaders, forming an 11-rider group with 20km remaining. A series of attacks ensued, with Wright breaking away before an ill-timed puncture ended her hopes.

On the final climb, Georgi launched a blistering attack that left her competitors trailing. Henderson and Deignan secured second and third, while Flora Perkins, Millie Couzens, and Towers rounded out the top six. Perkins also claimed the under-23 title.

Pfeiffer Georgi
(Photo Credit:

Reflecting on her victory, Georgi said, “It’s really special, I actually didn’t expect to win. I wasn’t feeling the best during the race – there was a lot of attacks and I was suffering. The team really supported me and Josie [Nelson] set me up perfectly. I just sprinted as hard as I could up the climb and I didn’t look back until the top. It’s just as special every time and it’s an honour to wear the jersey. National champs is always such a hard race to win with so many different dynamics. Once is hard, but to win it three times is really special.”

Perkins, elated with her performance, added, “It feels really cool actually – my first national jersey! I’m just happy with the race in general, I’m pleased with the result and pleased with the performance.”

2024 Great Britain National Road Race Championships Women result

Results powered by

Men’s race

Ethan Hayter captured the elite men’s road race title after a thrilling contest that saw him conquer the steep ascent of Saltburn Bank. The 182km race, fought over seven laps, witnessed numerous attacks and dynamic shifts.

An early breakaway featured prominent riders like Connor Swift and Josh Tarling, with a group of six quickly forming. This breakaway expanded to include notable names such as Lewis Askey, Jake Stewart, and Bob Donaldson.

Ethan Hayter and Lewis Askey
(Photo Credit:

The race saw relentless activity, with attacks from Ben Swift and Finlay Pickering among others, splitting the peloton multiple times. Max Walker spearheaded a front group, establishing a notable gap before being reeled in.

With four laps remaining, Hayter, Askey, Stewart, Donaldson, and Walker formed a leading group. Swift and Blackmore bridged to the leaders, but Hayter, Askey, and Walker soon pulled away, building a commanding lead.

In the final lap, Swift’s solo effort to bridge the gap was valiant but ultimately futile. On the decisive climb, Askey attacked first, but Hayter countered decisively, sprinting past to secure the victory. Hayter’s triumph was his first since last year’s Tour de Romandie.

Post-race, Hayter shared, “It’s really nice with my family being here. I’ve not won a race for a while so it’s really nice. As a team, we really worked together quite well. I was a bit nervous but at the end when you can sprint up a climb like that and it’s so fast but I just lapped up the crowd. I’ve been jealous of [Fred Wright] all year in the stripes so it’s nice to take them off him!”

Men’s podium
(Photo Credit:

2024 Great Britain National Road Race Championships Men result

Results powered by

All photo credits: